The Courts of Justice

A historical survey of the courts as well as their roles, functions and tasks


This section has general information about the Courts of Justice in Norway: the principle of the division of powers, the tasks of the courts and an overview of legal instances etc.

See also the brochure "Courts of Norway"

The function of the Courts of Justice is to settle civil disputes brought to court and to be responsible for a society's right to respond to and punish whoever breaks Norwegian Law.

The main courts of justice in Norway are: The Supreme Court, The Interlocutory Appeals Committee of the Supreme Court, The Courts of Appeal, and the District Courts. All of the latter can rule on both civil and criminal cases. In addition there are certain courts of law restricted to limited areas of competence. Examples of so called special courts are: Severance Courts (Land Disputes) and the Industrial Tribunal in Oslo.
The Courts of Justice have a vital role in maintaining law and order in a state based on democratic principles. The principle of the sovereignty of the people: the idea that the power resides with the people, is the basis of our constitution, with the National Assembly (the Storting) as the state's highest elected body.

Read more about Norwegian judges here.

Norwegian laws translated to other languages.

Til toppen